Review: And the Trees Crept In by Dawn Kurtagich

Standard


Title: And the Trees Crept In
Author: Dawn Kurtagich
Pub. Date: September 2016
Pages: 352
Format: ARC
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Description:

When Silla and Nori arrive at their aunt’s home, it’s immediately clear that the “blood manor” is cursed. The creaking of the house and the stillness of the woods surrounding them would be enough of a sign, but there are secrets too–the questions that Silla can’t ignore: Who is the beautiful boy that’s appeared from the woods? Who is the man that her little sister sees, but no one else? And why does it seem that, ever since they arrived, the trees have been creeping closer?


The Review

I’m not usually big on horror/scary reads – I’m rarely ever touched by a scary book. I’ve seen so many people say that this book is very creepy with just enough scare, so I figured I could give it a try. I didn’t want something that would creep me out too much, because that’s just not my thing anymore.

To be honest, there were chapter intros – for instance the way it was broken down into “books” – that made me question exactly what their purpose was but it didn’t really alter the overall feel of the book. Despite that, And the Trees Crept In was a really well written book. The writing was so superb that it left just the right about of creepy tingles. There were some elements that made me cringe, too. Very detailed.

I love the ending to And the Trees Crept In, and I didn’t really see it coming. It made for a nice twist to an otherwise typical type of spooky story. I think this would make for an amazing movie, too. For some reason, I also got a little bit of a Flowers in the Attic vibe. For being “trapped” inside the house and nowhere to go.

Is there a true legend behind The Creeper Man or is it specific to this book? I know I’ve heard of Slender Man – it’s been in the news, and my six year old plays a game that has a Slender Man – that’s very similar to the description of The Creeper Man. It’s a nice little legend to tell over campfires and things like that.

Leave a Reply

