Review: The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Standard


Title: The Vanishing Season
Author: Jodi Lynn Anderson
Pub. Date: July 2014
Pages: 272
Format: ARC
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐

Description:

Girls started vanishing in the fall.

For Maggie Larsen, the town of Gill Creek is only a stopgap before college and freedom. Until she meets Pauline and Liam. What starts as an uneventful year suddenly changes. Someone is killing teenage girls, and the town reels from the tragedy. As Maggie’s and Pauline’s worlds collide and change around them, they will both experience love and loss. And by the end of the book, only one of them will survive.


The Review

I’ve read Anderson’s Peaches series and enjoyed them. I really like her writing and the draw to friendship, so when I saw The Vanishing Season had all that . . . I had to give it a whirl.

There is the friendship element, with a little love triangle – I need more two girls, one guy love triangle in my life! – tossed in. But it also had a dark undertone, and a twist at the end . . . which I saw coming; foreshadowing was on point.

I really liked this book, don’t get me wrong. Some of it felt cut off short – the Door County killer wasn’t who they thought it was and then never mentioned it again. And I think some of the narrating from the “ghost” was unnecessary. It wasn’t until the end that I kind of saw its importance, but even so.

And let me tell you – the whole thing with Maggie, Liam, and Pauline was inevitable and something that Maggie said to Liam was the truth . . . they were bored, and Maggie should’ve known better. The drama with them felt so much like Dawson’s Creek, and Joey, Dawson, and Pacey. No shame. I love that stuff!

The love triangle is probably the main reason I kept reading after the whole letdown with the killer and not knowing who it was.

I wish the ending was different. Not only with who the “ghost” is, but with what they see in the past and how things turned out after they died. However, it’s still a great read that left me wondering and patiently waiting to find out what will happen.

 

Leave a Reply

