Review: The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

Standard


Title: The Diabolic
Author: S.J. Kincaid
Pub. Date: November 2016
Pages: 416
Format: ARC
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Description:

A Diabolic is ruthless. A Diabolic is powerful. A Diabolic has a single task: Kill in order to protect the person you’ve been created for.

Nemesis is a Diabolic, a humanoid teenager created to protect a galactic senator’s daughter, Sidonia. The two have grown up side by side, but are in no way sisters. Nemesis is expected to give her life for Sidonia, and she would do so gladly. She would also take as many lives as necessary to keep Sidonia safe.

When the power-mad Emperor learns Sidonia’s father is participating in a rebellion, he summons Sidonia to the Galactic court. She is to serve as a hostage. Now, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia. She must become her. Nemesis travels to the court disguised as Sidonia—a killing machine masquerading in a world of corrupt politicians and two-faced senators’ children. It’s a nest of vipers with threats on every side, but Nemesis must keep her true abilities a secret or risk everything.

As the Empire begins to fracture and rebellion looms closer, Nemesis learns there is something more to her than just deadly force. She finds a humanity truer than what she encounters from most humans. Amidst all the danger, action, and intrigue, her humanity just might be the thing that saves her life—and the empire.


The Review

When I first started reading The Diabolic, there were a few things that caught me off guard and made me a little hesitant to keep reading. It also screamed politics, although that might’ve been because I had the concept on my brain at the time. And what Nemesis was designed for and that she killed outside of protecting Sedonia was a bit concerning, too.

I let these things go because it was actually really intriguing, and I was getting into the storyline. All the politics and rankings, etc. confused me and if I’m going to be completely honest – they whoosh went over my head. I decided not to dwell too much on the technical things, and I don’t think a lot of it really mattered in the long run.

I don’t usually get into things that are space-y and so futuristic sounding, but I started liking this book much more than I thought I would! After I got over the whole Nemesis thing, she became my favorite character. There was something about her that was different than what was described as a real Diabolic and I was starting to wonder if she was flawed . . . perhaps developed or designed incorrectly.

Then things got really interesting with the seemingly unnecessary violence and all the backstabbing. I figured the backstabbing was inevitable, considering the political feel of the overall book. I had this feeling that not a single person liked anyone else except Nemesis, and she’s not even supposed to have human emotions!

A few things that bothered me was that sex was said to be used as power, there were drugs being used throughout the entire book, and rape was an open secret and laughed about like it was some type of joke. Other then that, it was a very quick read that was enjoyable.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

  1. I’ve heard so many mixed things about this book and it’s making me super hesitant… like I heard about the rape part and that puts me off sooooooooo much, but I’m glad you mostly liked it. The concept is really interesting and I was looking forward to this book so much, I just don’t think I’ll read it D: the covers pretty though! Lovely review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve heard mixed things, too. I don’t blame you for being hesitant!

      The rape scene… actual rape doesn’t occur (thank god!) but Nemesis kicks butt because she’s heard what happens – rape has occurred before & everyone just brushes it off.

      The book was good but just had so many issues, with no trigger warnings. I’m surprised more people haven’t brought attention to it, tbh.

      The cover is pretty! And I just saw an all black one instead of the white! Even prettier.

      Like

Leave a Reply

