Review: Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

Standard


Title: Firsts
Author: Laurie Elizabeth Flynn
Pub. Date: January 2016
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Description:

Seventeen-year-old Mercedes Ayres has an open-door policy when it comes to her bedroom, but only if the guy fulfills a specific criteria: he has to be a virgin. Mercedes lets the boys get their awkward fumbling first times over with, and all she asks in return is that they give their girlfriends the perfect first time-the kind Mercedes never had herself.

Keeping what goes on in her bedroom a secret has been easy – so far. Her mother isn’t home nearly enough to know about Mercedes’ extracurricular activities, and her uber-religious best friend, Angela, won’t even say the word “sex” until she gets married. But Mercedes doesn’t bank on Angela’s boyfriend finding out about her services and wanting a turn – or on Zach, who likes her for who she is instead of what she can do in bed.

When Mercedes’ perfect system falls apart, she has to find a way to salvage her own reputation -and figure out where her heart really belongs in the process. Funny, smart, and true-to-life, Laurie Elizabeth Flynn‘s Firsts is a one-of-a-kind young adult novel about growing up.


The Review

My first five-star of 2017!

First off, this book reminded me so much of the movie Easy A. Not entirely of the same premise, but closely enough. With that said – I was slightly taken aback at the premise of this book. I get it, you know, I was in high school and went through my late teens and early 20’s as a wild-child. But . . . wow.

To be honest, I don’t want to sound like a prude and say “oh, she slept with __ guys and that’s worrisome” and have people think I’m judging. But the fact remains – Mercy did sleep with a number of guys in a very short period of time. I don’t like to judge, not knowing the situation. It was definitely worrisome, but she was cautious and used all proper safe sex protection . . . so on one hand I’m thinking “that’s okay – nothing wrong with sex if you’re ‘safe’ with it.” It was just my needing to figure out exactly why she was doing it.

I was waiting for things to hit the fan. Waiting for when Mercy’s secret would get out there. I was thinking maybe one of the boys or Faye – I didn’t like Faye at first, but she definitely grew on me; she showed herself to be a true-blue friend to Mercy – would find her notebook and backstab her with it. The notebook plays a minor role, but it would’ve been cliché.

I actually liked how it happened. Felt fresh, unique, but not in an over the top and complicated kind of way. It was inevitable. I even knew who was responsible but I didn’t know until later exactly what was done. While reading, I think it was easy to predict that something was going to happen, but I won’t explain why because I think it’ll reveal too much.

Ah, Zach. I love Zach! He was great from the very beginning. Despite their Wednesday friend status, and the way Mercy treated him . . . he continued to be there for her, no matter what. Then when everything started going down, he had his reservations but was still supportive through it all. The second he scratched out the derogatory word on her locker, I knew he was a keeper.

The one thing I was really interested in was the story about Luke. I had an inkling of the backstory, and I was right. There was just more to it than I anticipated. It really puts into place the actions and behavior of Mercedes. The more you read, the more she revealed about Luke. The more Mercy admitted about Luke, the more she started feeling . . . guilty about her actions.

I’ll be thinking of Firsts for some time. A very refreshing read about sexual empowerment (in a good and bad outlook), actions and consequences, and being a teen. High school was very accurately depicted in this book.

Leave a Reply

