Monthly Bookmail (January 2017).

Standard

I thought January would be a slow month for me, considering everything that I had gotten for Christmas. However, I did a lot of trades on Twitter to do a bit of purging of a lot of older books before I donated them. That turned into a lot of bookmail!  😀

This year, I’m putting myself on a book buying ban. I’m thinking of doing read 5, buy 1. The only exception to the buying will be my Uppercase Box (and I have two pre-orders that were done back in November).

Not pictured below is a pre-order that a friend got for me of RoseBlood by A.G. Howard. I had already read an ARC of the book, and loved it so much that I had to have a finished copy. There was also an awesome pre-order incentive of a signed print of Thorn,  😍 This book is absolutely gorgeous! Not only a beautiful cover, but the text and printing on the inside is red.

I read Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies series a few years ago, and planned on re-reading at one point; however, I decided to put them up for trade. I finally got an ARC of The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid, and I got Proxy and Guardian by Alex London – which is a series that I thought I’d be really interested in. Hopefully it’s as good as it sounds. And I’m already a good chunk into The Diabolic.

I snagged this signed ARC of A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess from Vale at Vale’s Bookshelf, and she included a Heartless magnetic bookmark and a few other swag items (not pictured).

Back in the summer, I missed the opportunity to see Jessica Cluess at my local Barnes & Noble and local indie bookstore, so I was glad to get a signed copy of this!  🙂

I bulked and broke my book buying ban. In my defense, it’s because I needed my Amazon order over $49 for free shipping – I don’t have Amazon Prime – so Delirium by Lauren Oliver was the perfect price for getting it over $49, 😊

These covers are swoon-worthy. The picture doesn’t do it justice. I haven’t read the trilogy yet, but I’m excited to start. Also, for some reason, I have all of Lauren Oliver’s books (minus the other two in this series) and haven’t read a single one of them.

I haven’t read the Quarantine series by Lex Thomas yet, but I’ve gotten all of them from trades or for super cheap, and they look really good. The Burnouts is book three, and there’s only one more in the series that I’m going to wait until I get can get it for a decent price,  🙂

I have not read the Divergent series by Veronica Roth yet. I won’t even lie. I also haven’t even seen the movies. However, I hear a lot of people talking about the books/movies, so I figured it was about time I got them to see what the big deal is. I traded for Insurgent and Allegiant, and I bought a copy of Divergent (oops – stupid book buying ban!)

Sanovia over at Creatyve Books did a 13 Days of Christmas giveaway during December, with all diverse or own voices titles. I won a copy of Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed, and I am anticipating starting this! I’ve heard nothing but good things about it.

I don’t usually pre-order stuff, but Alexandra Bracken had a pretty nice pre-order incentive for Wayfarer, and this is one of my anticipated 2017 releases – plus, Amazon had a pretty sweet Black Friday deal and it was beneficial to do it on pre-orders.

During the east’s snowstorm earlier this month, I got these two goodies: and ARC of Shutter by Courtney Alameda and an ARC of How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather.

Yes, that is a yeti,  😀

I’ve never heard of Shutter, but the cover was creepy and intriguing. And I’ve had How to Hang a Witch on my wishlist for some time now.

What did you get this month that you’re most excited about?

Leave a Reply

