Review: Sing

Standard


Title: Sing
Production: Illumination
Distribution: Universal Pictures
Release Date: December 2016
Length: 1 hour, 50 minutes
Format: Standard
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐

Description:

Dapper Koala Buster Moon presides over a once-grand theater that has fallen on hard times. An eternal optimist, and a bit of a scoundrel, he loves his theater above all and will do anything to preserve it. Facing the crumbling of his life’s ambition, he takes one final chance to restore his fading jewel to its former glory by producing the world’s greatest singing competition. Five contestants emerge: a mouse, a timid elephant, a pig, a gorilla and a punk-rock porcupine.


The Review

My son and I saw the preview for Sing when we saw Secret Life of Pets during the summer. I patiently waited for the release date . . . which wasn’t hard to miss, since the commercial for it was on every channel multiple times during a single segment! It almost made me not want to see it anymore.

However, to get my son out of the house during the holiday break from school – we went and saw it. It wasn’t as good as I thought it would be and I don’t know if the excessive advertising for it had anything to do with my liking of it . . . overly hyped things sometimes fall a little short.

Sing was a really cute movie, don’t get me wrong. It had a lot of amazing voices, an exceptional cast, and the animation was on point. The premise of the movie seems to be overplayed a lot in movies that are geared toward children – character does something wrong and then tries to fix that wrong. At least Buster Moon was a likable character, though.

The mouse – Mike – really got under my skin. He was an arrogant and rude little mouse. He had a cocky better than you attitude, and was constantly making fun of Rosita and Gunther (the pigs), and Meena (the elephant). All for being bigger. I know there could be a double meaning to that, considering he’s such a small little mouse. However, it didn’t feel that way.

Overall, it was just a mediocre movie with a bunch of laughs along the way.


Have you seen Sing yet?  🙂

3 thoughts on “Review: Sing

  1. Welp, I guess I can save my money and watch this some other way. I mean with all the advertising I knew this movie was too good to be true. I also heard there were racial undertones but I think people are probably being way too sensitive.

    Anyways Secret Life of Pets was awesome. Have you seen Moana yet? I want to see but haven’t had the time yet.

    Thanks for your thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am horrible at overlooking things that are problematic and not even noticing it, so there might be racial undertones. (A friend had to break down Zootopia for me, and explained every little racial moment in it).

      I do think that the character of Johnny being a thug with a hidden talent & his father not approving was questionable and well overplayed in movies and shows.

      Definitely not worth seeing in theaters! I had free tickets, lol, or I probably wouldn’t have gone (my little man only liked the singing parts… even in the commercials – which I hoped would be more of in the movie).

      I haven’t seen Moanna yet. I’ve heard some really good things about it, and the only “bad” thing is that The Rock’s character was completely overplayed and almost ruined the feel of the movie.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Same. Most often than not folks are going to the movies and reading books for pure entertainment. We’re not actively seeking out all the problematic details that might be there.

        And I loved Zootopia which is probably way better than Sing. Thank goodness you had a free ticket lol.

        Yeah I heard the same about the Rock’s character but I need to see this movie. I mean the hype is getting to me.

        Like

Leave a Reply

