Review: The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti

Standard


Title: The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett
Author: Chelsea Sedoti
Pub. Date: January 2017
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Rating: ⭐⭐

Description:

A teenage misfit named Hawthorn Creely inserts herself in the investigation of missing person Lizzie Lovett, who disappeared mysteriously while camping with her boyfriend. Hawthorn doesn’t mean to interfere, but she has a pretty crazy theory about what happened to Lizzie. In order to prove it, she decides to immerse herself in Lizzie’s life. That includes taking her job… and her boyfriend. It’s a huge risk — but it’s just what Hawthorn needs to find her own place in the world.


The Review

Okay, so I didn’t really like nor hate The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett. I did read from beginning to end, and I didn’t skip over any chapters or skim like I usually do when I can’t get into a book. It was really, really slow to get into and then there were things that just really irritated me . . . yet I did keep reading. I was generally curious on what happened to Lizzie, and the storyline with Hawthorn and Enzo was interesting.

Hawthorn’s obsession with Lizzie, and with Lizzie being a werewolf and no one calling her out on her craziness really irked me the most. Practically condoning the behavior. I get it, y’know. Wild imagination, anything can happen. I just found the obsession with it to go overboard. Almost the entire book revolved around Lizzie being a werewolf, and then practically the entire book was Hawthorn becoming obsessed with Lizzie as a person . . . someone that she didn’t know all that well. And she had the nerve to make a comment to Rush about him reacting the way he did when finding out Lizzie was missing?

Hawthorn was so obsessed with Lizzie that she ended up taking up a job where Lizzie worked, making friends with her boyfriend and ultimately forming a relationship with him. This was one of the most messed up things I’ve read in awhile. In a way, it had potential to be a great thing (age difference aside) . . . the way it was played out, though, just made Enzo to be an asshole. He was obviously using Hawthorn and, in a way, didn’t even seem to care about Lizzie if he moved on so quickly. Then he sealed the asshole deal with hooking up with Mychelle. The bitch of all bitches.

Then there’s the hippies and Hawthorn’s mom’s outlook on life. It wasn’t a bad thing . . . just wasn’t believable. It didn’t feel real and almost forced in a way. And lastly, the friendship between Hawthorn and her brother’s friend (the name is escaping me) . . . please tell me I am not the only person who realised what was going on there? Obviously Hawthorn was too oblivious to see it – what with her obsession with Lizzie Lovett and all.

Overall, I kept reading because I was interested in what happened to Lizzie. The message that the book was trying to portray was there once I finished and started evaluating my thoughts and everything for this review. It just didn’t feel like it was there while I was reading and I think it might’ve been better and more real if I saw it as I was reading it.

Leave a Reply

