Review: Eat, Brains, Love by Jeff Hart

Standard


Title: Eat, Brains, Love
Series: Eat, Brains, Love, #1
Author: Jeff Hart
Pub. Date: October 2013
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Description:

The good news: Jake’s dream girl, Amanda Blake, finally knows his name.

The bad news: it’s because they both contracted a mysterious zombie virus and devoured the brains of half their senior class. Now Jake and Amanda are on the run from Cass, a teen psychic sent by the government’s top-secret Necrotic Control Division to track them down. As Jake and Amanda deal with the existential guilt of eating their best friends and set off in search of a cure for the zombie virus, Cass struggles with a growing psychic dilemma of her own—one that will lead all three of them on an epic journey across the country and make them question what it means to truly be alive. Or undead.


The Review

I don’t usually review backlist titles (<2014) on my blog, but since this is part of a series and the second in the series was published in 2014, I figured I’d make an exception.

When I first started reading Eat, Brains, Love I was immediately pulled in. It started with a bang – or a bite – then just kept going at a steady clip. Very fast paced and kept the storyline going in a direction that made me want to keep reading. Even the twist/ending, which I had mixed feelings about.

The attention to detail was really what got me. It was gross and vivid but without going into a full blown description. I’m a huge fan of The Walking Dead, so I’m familiar with grotesque material. This book didn’t skim over any of that, but it didn’t put emphasis on each gory detail . . . which sometimes can be much better, especially with this book.

Jake’s character had me in stitches from laughing. I adored his character. Despite the fact that he turned into a friend eating zombie, he still found it in his heart to have a sense of humor about the whole thing. I didn’t like Amanda so much, even though she was definitely a heroine even if she wasn’t intended to be . . . she saved Jake’s hind more than once. Cass’s character definitely has potential and I think we’ll see more of her shine through in Undead with Benefits.

The twist of the story was a bit of a head-scratcher. At first, I really didn’t like how it happened. It almost felt like too much going on at once. I knew Alastaire was a piece of dirt, so I knew he was up to no good. However, the whole tribe from Iowa was just odd and a bit unnecessary.

I know that Undead with Benefits will fill in the blanks with whether there’s a cure and the whole Iowa tribe, and the possible love triangle between Amanda, Jake, and Cass should definitely be interesting.

Eat, Brains, Love was an exciting read that took the zombie apocalypse concept to a different level. It wasn’t “zomg zombies, run for your life” survival mode, it was from a zombie’s perspective and no human was in any serious risk of getting attacked. It’s something I haven’t read or seen before except for Isaac Marion’s Warm Bodies (which I’ve only seem parts of the movie).

Leave a Reply

