Blog Tour: Spells & Sorcery by S. Usher Evans

Standard

Hello, bookworms! Welcome to my stop of the Spells & Sorcery blog tour! I read and reviewed the book back in August for #ARCAugust and enjoyed it, and I love promoting authors and their books in any way that I can!  🙂 My stop of the tour is an author interview. Learn more about the book, the author, and the inspiration behind the main character Lexie. Don’t forget to check out the giveaway!


About the Book


Title: Spells & Sorcery
Series: The Lexie Carrigan Chronicles, #1
Author: S. Usher Evans
Pub. Date: October 2016
Pages: 230

Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo

Description:

Lexie Carrigan thought the weirdest thing about her was she preferred watching documentaries and reading the newspaper to reality TV and Twitter. But on the eve of her fifteenth birthday, her aunt and sisters drop a bomb–she’s magical.

Now the girl who never made waves is blowing up her nightstand and trying to keep from wreaking havoc on her school. When a kind stranger shows up with all the answers, Lexie hopes he’ll be able to help her control her newfound powers. But Gavon may not be as kind as he seems, and soon Lexie finds out that being magical is the least weird thing about her.


About the Author

S. Usher Evans is an author, blogger, and witty banter aficionado. Born in Pensacola, Florida, she left the sleepy town behind for the fast-paced world of Washington, D.C.. There, she somehow landed jobs with BBC, Discovery Channel, and National Geographic Television before finally settling into a “real job” as an IT consultant. After a quarter life crisis at age 27, she decided consulting was for the birds and rekindled a childhood passion for writing novels. She sold everything she owned and moved back to Pensacola, where she currently resides with her two dogs, Zoe and Mr. Biscuit.

Evans is the author of the Razia series, Madion War Trilogy, and Empath, published by Sun’s Golden Ray Publishing.

website | facebook | twitter | goodreads


Author Interview

I love doing author interviews! There are times where I really struggle with the questions to ask, but it definitely helps when you know a little bit of the author and can relate to them or their books. I absolutely loved this interview with Sush, so without further ado – on with the interview!  🙂

If you could have one magical power, what would it be?

The ability to retrieve objects from wherever. I would never leave the couch—or lose anything—again.

When I first saw the cover for Spells & Sorcery, I immediately got the Wizards of Waverly Place song stuck in my head. If you could give Lexie a theme song – what would some of the lyrics be?

Oh man, that’s hard. I’m not a song-writer. Probably something like “All I wanna do is study American history, but now I gotta figure out this mystery. Why is everyone acting so weird, is my past worse than I fear?”

Credit to the Rhyming Dictionary.

I also got a lot of vibe from other television shows – Sabrina the Teenage Witch and Charmed, for the sister’s and female cast element; Buffy the Vampire Slayer, strangely, for the “coming into the gift” element – but what was some of your inspiration for Lexie and having a cast of predominately all female characters? Was this intended, and does it lead into further books in the series?

I came up with Lexie when I was thirteen, and I was into Harry Potter and anime. I write female protagonists because I am female, and that was my default for a number of years (creatively, I’m starting to branch out into the dudebros and people unlike me). I always wanted sisters, so that’s why Lexie got sisters, and I’ve always thought that magic more readily associated with females.

I tend to write stories about people and relationships first, then perhaps deal with the world around them. For Lexie, she’s going through that strange period in her life where nobody really understands the deep well of activity happening beneath the surface, and she lacks the ability to effectively communicate what that is. Hence the secrecy, the fighting, and the clinging to someone who even remotely acts like he gets her. I’ve noticed that it resonates with a lot of teenagers, which was my target audience.

You were an IT consultant – that’s awesome! I’m a web developer, and it seems that a lot of authors come from the technology field. I know you left that world behind to start writing, but do you think if you weren’t a writer, you’d still be doing technology related job(s)?

If I weren’t a writer, I’d be dead. That sounds dramatic, but I denied my creative side for a long time because it wasn’t the “right” thing to do. Now I fight tooth and nail to retain that identity because it took so long to grab hold of.

That being said, I do utilize my IT and project management background to manage my website and business. Having the skills to be able to do *almost* everything is key to being a successful self-publisher.

If you could give words of advice to new writers, what advice would you give?

Recently, my favorite bit of advice is to love your voice. It’s such a simple concept, and something that tripped me up for a long time. Love the way you tell stories, and you’ll be able to move past the general ick factor and into the real problems of the manuscript.

You were recently at DragonCon. Do you ever go to cons just for yourself, and if so – what is your favorite that you’ve attended?

I do a LOT of conventions for the books, but to be honest, I don’t really like the scene. I’m not much for big crowds and walking around and buying things I don’t need (related: I’m mentally sixty). My preference are outdoor concerts where I can sit on the beach and drink a beer and enjoy life.


The Giveaway

There are two giveaways for this tour! Both open internationally:

– This is an individual blog giveaway. I will choose a winner no later than November 11 and prize will be sent out after November 15. An active email is required.

One thought on “Blog Tour: Spells & Sorcery by S. Usher Evans

Leave a Reply

