Review: You Before Anyone Else by Julie Cross & Mark Perini

Standard


Title: You Before Anyone Else
Author: Julie Cross & Mark Perini
Pub. Date: August 2016
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Description:

Everything she wants. Everything he needs.

The supportive friend, the reliable daughter, the doting big-sister: Finley is used to being the glue that holds everyone together. But while her sweet demeanor makes her the perfect confidant, her wholesome look isn’t landing her the high paying modeling jobs, which are what Finley needs if she is going to reopen her mother’s dance studio.

Enter Eddie. He’s intense and driven, not to mention the life of every party, and he completely charms Finley. The last thing she wants is another commitment to stand in the way of her dreams, but when she’s with Eddie, their chemistry takes over and she can let go of her responsibilities and just be. After all, what’s so wrong about putting herself first once and a while?

Except Eddie is hiding a secret. A big secret. And when it surfaces, he and Finley are going to have to choose between their love for each other and everything else…


The Review

Everything about You Before Anyone Else screamed cliché. Good girl, bad boy – toss in a secret and a happily ever after. I don’t really read a lot of contemporaries and the idea of anything romance with me is an iffy slope . . . so I completely went in expecting the worst.

But you know what? I absolutely adored this book! Finn and Eddie’s relationship with one another is so cute . . . it’s something that you could really believe and see happening to two young people. The modeling lifestyle was an added bonus; it didn’t seem unrealistic.

I had a feeling of what Eddie’s secret was, and I was absolutely right! There were a few twists that I didn’t see coming, but I had Eddie pegged from the beginning. I really liked Finley’s character – she was really down to earth and was the perfect “girl next door” type. Heart of gold, too.

Eddie’s family definitely left a sour taste in my mouth . . . sometimes I find it so hard to believe that anyone’s flesh and blood would treat anyone like that. Maybe that’s my own naivety coming from a household where my father would die for my happiness. Either way, I love that Eddie did what he had to do for himself and everyone involved.

A cute, fun, and quick romantic contemporary.

Leave a Reply

