All About Indies & Ninja Book Box (+ Giveaway)

Standard

You know what? I don’t shop indie bookstores as much as I should. I’m slightly ashamed to admit that I do shop “big box sellers,” πŸ™

I live on the east coast, in Maryland, where there are beaches all around in the tri-state area (Delaware, Maryland, Virginia) and there’s only one indie store that I know of within reasonable distance to me and that’s Bethany Beach Books in Bethany Beach, DE.

I’ve never physically been there*, but I was a part of their monthly book subscription box – The Book Drop – for a while before a few things came up, and I had to cancel it for the time being. I loved receiving books from a smaller independent shop because you could see the thought and care they put into the box . . . similar to Owlcrate or Uppercase, but just felt more personal.

And of course the books chosen weren’t the highly anticipated titles that everyone is looking forward to. They weren’t exactly backlist (although I did get a couple that were <2014) but they were books that you might not have heard of or that were overlooked because of other popular books, etc. I’m not keen on who all the independent authors are, so they may have also been indie authors.

After the new year, I definitely plan on subscribing back to The Book Drop because the books and the items included in the Teenage Dream (YA) box was completely worth it. I was originally subscribed during the summer, and received a lot of summer/beach reads . . . they’re definitely not really my thing, so I’d be interested in knowing if during the winter they’ll be different,  πŸ™‚

*I plan on making a trip this week,  πŸ˜€

While I might not shop indie as much as I should, I do support indies when and where I can. I also support self-published authors or small publishers as much as I can. I have the philosophy that “we all start from somewhere.” The best part? Some of the best books I’ve ever read have been by self published authors or books published by smaller publishers.

Now, with that said . . . I met Bex at An Armchair by the Sea when I very first joined Twitter and the book community back in May 2016. Roughly around that time, she was putting together a mini book swap (Ninja Book Swap) that I participated in – so much fun!  πŸ˜€ – so I’ve known her for awhile and when I found out about the Ninja Book Box subscription that she’s got started . . . I just knew I had to help promote it. Check it out!


About Ninja Book Box

Ninja Book Box is a new quarterly box shipping worldwide from the UK and featuring books published by independent publishers. We aim to introduce excellent books (both backlist and new releases) particularly those which our team & the publishers we work with feel haven’t received the recognition they deserve, and help you find favourites in genres you wouldn’t necessarily pick up for yourselves. Supporting primarily UK based small businesses, each box will contain a book (often signed by the author & with additional material) plus at least two gift items, and lots of other fun extras and will take its theme from the book. We want to support excellence and promote exploration and discovery in all aspects of the box. Subscribers will also gain access to lots of additional community perks. For more information sign up to our newsletter, or check out our website for details of how to get the first box!


The Giveaway

Enter to win the first ever Ninja Book Box! This giveaway is a Rafflecopter giveaway.

2 thoughts on “All About Indies & Ninja Book Box (+ Giveaway)

  1. There’s a few indie book stores in my area but I can’t drive yet so it’s hard for me to visit them 😦 I really want to one day because they deserve the love! And I love the atmosphere of indie bookstores too πŸ™‚

    Like

    • They definitely deserve the love! The one I visited was in a tourist-y town, so I was little taken aback by the price! I knew I wouldn’t be paying “big box retailer” prices like Amazon, but I was still shocked.

      But yes! The atmosphere was so nice. The only other physical bookstore I’ve ever gone into was Barnes & Noble (and maybe the book sections in Target or Walmart) so I was comparing to that . . . so much more easy to navigate, πŸ™‚

      You should go to one! You and your sister, and maybe your momma! Make it a fun little trip, ❀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

