Review: Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

Standard


Title: Stalking Jack the Ripper
Author: Kerri Maniscalco
Pub. Date: September 2016
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
Rating: ⭐⭐

Description:

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.


The Review

I don’t know where to start with my review. I struggled with rating, too. Stalking Jack the Ripper was a highly anticipated book, and I was fortunate enough to score an ARC back in June. Naturally, when I get an ARC – I feel this anxious desire to enjoy it. I often feel bad if I don’t. This is something I’m getting better at, but it’s a work in progress.

However, this was a DNF for me. It’s definitely not because it was a bad book. It had a lot of promise. I read more than halfway through, which is much further than I usually would for a book that I knew would be a DNF. Unfortunately, I just couldn’t get into the story. It just dragged its feet . . . the plot felt like it wasn’t going anywhere. The characters felt one dimensional – no personality.

I admit that I really enjoyed Thomas’ character. Even if he was cocky at times. I deemed him a perfect book boyfriend within the first scene he was introduced. And to be honest, the only reason that I continued to read was because I was really interested in the Cresswell and Wadsworth flirting. I just knew there would be an epiphany and they would finally stop beating around the bush with each other.

I took to Twitter to ask how it ended, and the lovely Leah at Bumble Bee Books was ever so kind to give me a play-by-play from where I left off. And you know what? It sounds really good! Which, like I said, I just knew the book had potential. One day, I may just pick up where I left off. Based on what I was told, my suspicions seemed a little on-point.

While it wasn’t for me – I’m pretty sure the general population will enjoy it. I’m one of the few less popular opinions.

Leave a Reply

