Blog Tour: Wake the Hollow by Gaby Triana

Standard

Hello, my bookworms!

Welcome to my stop of the Wake the Hollow blog tour! This is a book I have been eyeballing for some time, and I was happy when I got accepted for the tour!  🙂 I love stories like these, even though I don’t read them all that often. Much more ghost story than mystery/thriller, but a great combination of both!

Check out my review for Wake the Hollow, read the first chapter for yourself, and enter the giveaway for custom Halloween bracelets made by the author! Until then, just remember, “spooky things just come with the territory.”  👻



Title: Wake the Hollow
Author: Gaby Triana
Pub. Date: August 2016
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Description:

Forget the ghosts, Mica. It’s real, live people you should fear.

Tragedy has brought Micaela Burgos back to her hometown of Sleepy Hollow. It’s been six years since she chose to live with her father in Miami instead of her eccentric mother. And now her mother is dead.

This town will suck you in and not let go.

Sleepy Hollow may be famous for its fabled headless horseman, but the town is real. So are its prejudices and hatred, targeting Mica’s family as outsiders. But ghostly voices carry on the wind, whispering that her mother’s death was based on hate…not an accident at all. With the help of two very different guys — who pull at her heart in very different ways — Micaela must awaken the hidden secret of Sleepy Hollow…before she meets her mother’s fate.

Find the answers.

Unless, of course, the answers find you first.


I don’t usually give out five star reviews all that often. However, Wake the Hollow touched me just the right way and is completely deserving of five stars! It kept my attention since the first page, and kept me wanting to read more. The ending warmed my heart in just the right way, too.

It was a mystery/thriller, but not with the typical plot in most mysteries. Even with a who-done-it element, it didn’t really feel like one. Mica was on a mission to find answers about her mother and what her mother – in addition to another woman – was trying to tell her, but it didn’t revolve around Mica hunting down clues on how her mother died.

Believe it or not, I have never read nor seen any Sleepy Hollow adaptations. As far as all of the references and what-not go, I went into this book completely blind. Thankfully, everything was descriptive and full of details that I wasn’t reading and needing much explanation elsewhere on things.

There were some things that were a little predictable, but it didn’t ruin the plot for me because there were still enough twists and turns along the way that made up for anything that was predictable. Some of the scenes had me sitting on edge waiting to see what would happen.

Mica’s character annoyed me a little bit. I know she had just lost her mom and she moved back to Sleepy Hollow to take care of the loose ends, and her father is a little missing in action and she doesn’t have anyone in town other than Bram – so she’s a little emotional and under a lot of stress. Just something irritated me . . . felt like she cried over every little thing. Her character was portrayed (read as) a strong and semi-independent young woman, but some of her actions were everything but.

The little “love triangle” of sorts between Mica, Bram, and Dane was actually pretty interesting to read. I have no idea why, but I like petty things like that. Bram’s dedication to Mica was so innocent and childhood love, that I was kind of leaning toward them. However, Dane was always there for her when she needed him.

The Hallow Eve scene was probably my favorite scene, and the other scene’s with the Headless Horseman were some of my favorites also. Sleepy Hollow is definitely a town that has a lot of history and past, unspoken words and stories. It actually makes me really want to visit! Just to feel that chilly vibe that I got from the book but in real life!

Definitely a fast paced book with some chills and thrills, twists and turns, and a hidden truth worth digging up.


Excerpt

Follow me, please. The woman’s smoky silhouette hovers over me again.

Leave me alone. I cover my eyes, though I can still see her swirling shape through my fingers.

She floats closer, wringing her misty hands. You mustn’t ignore me, Micaela. You must come with me.

Stop, I won’t go with you! I hate that I can never see her face clearly. Why won’t she leave me alone? Wake up!

A long screech rips me from the hazy dream. My eyes fly open, and my hands grip the first thing ahead of me for balance. Seats. Plastic. Brakes hiss to a stop. A drunk old man asleep in a window seat opposite mine stirs. Where am I? The Metro-North train…that’s right. We’ve pulled into Tarrytown station. 11:28 p.m. I almost slept through my stop.

For the full excerpt of the first chapter, visit Entangled Teen.


About the Author

Gaby Triana is the award-winning author of six YA novels — Wake the Hollow (Aug. 2016, Entangled), Summer of Yesterday, Riding the Universe, The Temptress Four, Cubanita, and Backstage Pass, as well as thirteen ghostwritten novels for best-selling authors. Originally a 4th grade teacher with a Master of Science in Elementary Education and ten years teaching experience, Gaby earned Teacher of the Year in 2000, wrote her first novel, Freddie and the Biltmore Ghost, then left teaching to launch a full-time writing career. She went on to publish young adult novels with HarperCollins and Simon & Schuster, win an IRA Teen Choice Award, ALA Best Paperback Award, and Hispanic Magazine’s Good Reads of 2008. She spends her time obsessing about Halloween, Christmas, and Disney World, as well as hosting parties, designing mugs, making whimsical cakes, and winning costume contests. When she’s not writing, she might also be watching Jurassic Park movies with her boys, posting excessive food pics on social media, or helping run the Florida region of the SCBWI. Gaby lives in Miami with her three sons, Michael, Noah, and Murphy. She has one dog, Chloe, and two cats—Miss Daisy, and the reformed thug, shooting survivor, Bowie.

website | twitter | facebook


Giveaway

  • One (1) grand prize winner will win a Halloween bracelet personally made by Gaby Triana + $20 Amazon giftcard.
  • Seven (7) additional winners will win a Halloween bracelet personally made by Gaby Triana.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One thought on “Blog Tour: Wake the Hollow by Gaby Triana

Leave a Reply

