Monthly Bookmail (August 2016).

Standard

I cannot believe that summer is finally over. Well, I know it’s not officially over, but for me – once school starts, summer is over. My little guy started school today, and that’s pretty much a wrap for the summer. Even if the heat says otherwise!  😀

I did pretty good this month as far as book hauls go. I narrowed my book subscription boxes down to just one – Uppercase – although I’ve considered cancelling that for now, at least until after the holidays. The incentives – signed books – are a little too nice to pass on, though, even if I do get duplicates.

This month, I actually got a lot of eBooks since I signed up for NetGalley and started getting approved for titles. But physical copies are still my babies, and they’re so pretty!

My Amazon haul included:

Okay, so . . . I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about the Mara Dyer trilogy. I had a hardcover of the first book but actually traded it, but I kept hearing about it so I was like you know what – I’m just going to get them. I still need book three, but I’ll have it eventually. I just hope the series is as good as everyone keeps making it out to be!

Also, I’m a huge V.C. Andrews fan. For her original titles, anyhow. Not for what was written after she died and is being written by her “ghostwriter.” I admit that I wanted My Sweet Audrina after seeing the Lifetime movie based from the novel. I somehow think it’s tied to the Dollanganger series, which makes me a little intrigued.

I traded a hardcover copy of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer for this ARC of Keep Me Posted by Lisa Beazley.

It sounds like it’ll be a cute little read. I’m trying to get myself more into contemporary, just to mix it up a little bit.

One of my favorite bloggers – Christina at Ensconced in Lit – had a Twitter party a month or so ago, and I managed to snag this cute little party pack including a Griffin Teen tote bag, a Fierce Reads coloring book, and an ARC of Allison Umminger’s American Girls.

I had read that the premise behind the book is loosely based around Charles Manson and the Manson girls, and that is the number one reason I wanted to read this book. I am strangely obsessed with all things Charles Manson.

With the release of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, a lot of bloggers were posting the deal that Amazon was having for this beautiful illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

The one thing I really like about this – my son wants me to read it to him, because it has pictures! A momma reader’s dream . . . the introduction to Harry Potter shall begin.

A part of me really wants to get the Hogwarts Express Funko Pops! and put it on display with this edition. I’m not sure where I would put it, though. Decisions, decisions.


What bookmail did you get this month that you were excited about? Tell me about it!

Leave a Reply

