By the Book

Standard

The New York Times ‘By the Book’ tag was originally created by Marie Berg on YouTube. Shoutout to He Said Books or Me for posting it! 😀


What book is on your nightstand now?

I have Dead to the World, Dead as a Doornail, and My Lady Jane on my nightstand. Then several more on my Kindle, but that usually stays in bed with me.

What was the last truly great book that you read?

I recently finished the Ignite the Shadows series by Ingrid Seymour and it was amazing. I’ve been recommending it to everyone I can think of, 😊

If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

Oh, man. That’s a good question. I think J.K. Rowling would be a wonderful person to sit down with and just talk about Harry Potter. Who else better, y’know?

What books might we be surprised to find on your shelves?

I’m not sure. I mean, I read a little bit of everything. I guess maybe my whole shelf of Stephen King? Not that I can bring myself to read them . . . the man is wordy.

How do you organize your personal library?

For right now, they’re alphabetically by author, then chronologically by publication date by the same author. The Walking Dead collection is the only thing out of order because they’re heavy and there’s only one shelf that was sturdy  and wide enough vertically to hold them. Eventually, I’m going to have a “features” shelf.

What book have you always meant to read and haven’t got round to yet? Anything you feel embarrassed never to have read?

Not embarrassed. I’ve been meaning to get around to reading a lot of series: the Lunar Chronicles, Dorothy Must Die, and Hunger Games.

Disappointing, over-rated, just not good: what book did you feel you were supposed to like but didn’t? Do you remember the last book you put down without finishing?

Nothing as of late. I am new to the book community, so I haven’t read a lot of the popular series or books, especially newer titles, but my opinion on a lot of these “overrated” books seem to be of popular opinion.

What kinds of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

Honestly, I read a little bit of everything. I’m not really drawn to stories in particular – covers, maybe. I do like supernatural-ish stories, dystopian, apacolyptic the most.

I stay away from non-fiction and anything with Christianity.

If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?

I’m going to pretend like this question wasn’t asked, because I don’t have an answer.

What do you plan to read next?

I have a few more books left for ARC August and/or promised reviews, so I’m not counting those. I really want to get into Illuminae. There’s so many I want to read but I’m a mood reader, so who knows.

Leave a Reply

