Waiting on Wednesday (August 10).

Standard

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating!

I’m going to break the mold a little bit with my first post for Waiting on Wednesday. Instead of mentioning titles that everyone is anticipating and go without saying – I’m going with the lesser knowns.



Title: The Walking Dead
Series: The Walking Dead, Book #13 (contains issues 145 – 156)
Author: Robert Kirkman, et al
Pub. Date: October 2016

Description:

After a devastating encounter with the Whisperers, Rick must rally the communities to take action. But have they already reached their breaking point?


I don’t really collect things. Except books, but that’s obvious. What I mean is I don’t really collect merchandise or things from fandoms, and I’m really not that crazy about graphic novels (comics? which is the politically correct term?)

However, when I was told about The Walking Dead (the show) and binge watched the first season to be prepared for the second season – I learned about the graphic novels and became such a fan of the show that I just had to have them.

Now that the show has been on for several seasons, even with a spin-off, my love for the show isn’t as extreme and has dwindled dramatically. The show just seems to have gone downhill, even though I do still watch religiously every Sunday when it’s on. It hasn’t swayed me from collecting the compilation hardcovers, however.

The funny thing is – they’re all still in their plastic wrap, except the first one. I’ve made my mind up that after this next season, I am going to binge read the entire collection. I can’t read and watch at the same time, because I would confuse the two plots since they’re vastly different.

I’m slightly disappointed that these compilations are only in black and white. Which is kind of cool, because it makes it feel more . . . apocalyptic. I just know the color version of each issue would be amazing. I also enjoy how seamless it goes from one issue to the next. I’ve only read book one, but it was so flawless.

Now once I get the Funko Pop! of Michonne and maybe the Carol Funko Pop!, I’ll have a nice little setup. I already have Rick Grimes protecting the collection, and all of the other Pop! figures are kind of lame looking. Especially the Daryl, but let’s not get started with that.

2 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday (August 10).

    • See, and I’ve never read The Hunger Games (despite them sitting on my shelves looking ever so pretty).

      I think The Walking Dead is an acquired taste. Like it’s not for everyone, y’know? I just really love apocalyptic stuff, 🙂

      The only fandom-y stuff I do more or less collect is Harry Potter but not in an excessive way. I don’t have the books in ever edition or anything like that. Just want all the Pop!s.

      Like

Leave a Reply

