Review: Before the Snow by Danielle Paige

Standard


Title: Before the Snow
Series: Stealing Snow, #0.1
Author: Danielle Paige
Pub. Date: July 2016
Pages: 81
Format: eBook
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Description:

Young Nepenthe is half-princess, half-mermaid. Though she longs for the sea, her father wants her to stay on land. But only love can make a mermaid give up the water, and Nepenthe doesn’t love anyone the way her mother loves her human father. She wants to live as a mermaid and become the River Witch, like her mother.

Then Nepenthe meets Prince Lazar, the son of the all-powerful Snow King of Algid, and she can’t help but fall for him. After a horrible tragedy strikes, Nepenthe joins forces with a young fire witch named Ora to save Lazar and protect the kingdom. But it soon becomes clear that Ora loves Lazar just as much as Nepenthe does… And now Nepenthe must decide: inherit the power of the River Witch, or betray her friend to be with the boy she loves.

And Nepenthe’s role in the prophecy is only just beginning. . . In the future, she is destined to cross paths with a girl named Snow, who will have the power to change Algid forever-for better, or for worse.


The Review

This was my first ever “retelling” of sorts and my first of anything by Danielle Paige. I really didn’t know what to expect, but I have been anticipating Stealing Snow for some time now so I jumped at the chance to get a glimpse of it, 😍

First, I just want to say – I’ve only watched Frozen once or twice, but I know enough about it to get a sense that there’s going to be a little bit of that Elsa element in this series. Lazar was like the male equivalent of Elsa with his Snow and I know the Snow will not stop with him.

I really like Nepenthe’s character . . . she’s strong, fierce, and independent. I love heroines that have all of the above from the get go, they don’t need a revelation or life altering event to make them strong. Even before Nepenthe’s life altering moment, she was still strong and had a good head on her shoulders.

The one thing that I secretly enjoyed about Before the Snow is the little love triangle. I haven’t really seen many two girls, one guy love triangles in books. It was refreshing and had me on edge waiting to see what Nepenthe would do. There’s so much left to explore there! 😁

I usually don’t like novellas because they always feel too short – duh – and never provide enough information to cling on to. But Before the Snow provided just enough of a teaser for the setup of Stealing Snow! I already have Queen Rising pre-ordered!

Leave a Reply

