Review: Spells & Sorcery by S. Usher Evans

Standard


Title: Spells & Sorcery
Series: The Lexie Carrigan Chronicles, #1
Author: S. Usher Evans
Pub. Date: October 2016
Pages: 230
Format: eARC
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐

Description:

Lexie Carrigan thought the weirdest thing about her was she preferred watching documentaries and reading the newspaper to reality TV and Twitter. But on the eve of her fifteenth birthday, her aunt and sisters drop a bomb–she’s magical.

Now the girl who never made waves is blowing up her nightstand and trying to keep from wreaking havoc on her school. When a kind stranger shows up with all the answers, Lexie hopes he’ll be able to help her control her newfound powers. But Gavon may not be as kind as he seems, and soon Lexie finds out that being magical is the least weird thing about her.


The Review

When I first started reading this . . . my first thought was here’s a Wizards of Waverly Place (to which I had the opening credits song stuck in my head every time I looked at the cover), Sabrina the Teenage Witch, and Charmed mash-up. I wasn’t too far off from that speculation.

At first, I wasn’t 100% sure that I was even going to like this book. It started off really slow and there was something about Lexie that I just didn’t like. Her character annoyed me. It was one of those spoiled little brat moments. Kind of like she felt entitled somehow, and in a way she kind of was since she came into her magic and she was being held back from using it or taught anything about it. Just the way that she was portrayed got under my skin.

Then there was the phrase “I blew air out of my lips.”

I kept reading, because on the brink of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child being released, I wanted to read something magical. I knew Spells & Sorcery had some potential, and there were some characters that I really wanted to figure out and learn more about. I wanted answers.

In the beginning, I really didn’t like the sister dynamic and how they treated each other. Jeanie wasn’t a sister, but they all lived together in a sisterly type of situation. I didn’t like how Jeanie treated the girls and didn’t know what to do with them. Marie was such a  bitch, and I struggled to pinpoint her issue. Even in the end, I still don’t know what her problem with Lexie is.

The entire time I thought Gram was a super bitch – similar to the grandmother in Flowers in the Attic. I figured she might have reasons why, that maybe she would redeem herself. I still think she’s a bitch. Sorry, not sorry.

I got a bit of a time traveler’s vibe with Gavon. I had my theory about Gavon and his role in the whole thing but it was nothing like I was thinking and everything was completely unexpected. Just like Lexie – I’m still on the fence on how to feel about him.

It wasn’t until the last 35-40% of the book that things really started picking up and answers starting piecing themselves together. When things did start piecing together, I facepalmed for not putting it together myself.

Towards the end, Lexie’s character really grew on me. Her maturity really progressed and she wasn’t that bratty new witch anymore. The things that she had to endure and the events that led up to the climax of the story really made Lexie the person that she was meant to be. I love Lexie’s sense of humor, even if some of it was used at the wrong time, 😂

Overall, it was a really good book. It just played out too slowly, and in a way slightly repetitive. Definitely interested in Mischief & Mayhem, when it comes out. There are still some questions that need answering!

Leave a Reply

