Review: Ripper by Ingrid Seymour

Standard


Title: Ripper
Series: The Morphid Chronicles, #2
Author: Ingrid Seymour
Pub. Date: May 2016
Pages: 302
Format: eBook
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐

Description:

Against all odds, Greg and Samantha seemed to have cheated Fate when they escaped Regent Danata. Miraculously, the two Morphids remain bound together, attempting to lead a normal, “human” life, even as fear of the evil woman’s revenge clouds their days.

As Sam and Greg struggle to grow their relationship, she is haunted by memories of Ashby, her Morphid soul mate, and burning questions of the identity of her real parents. As if that wasn’t enough, her untried Morphid instincts fill her with doubt and indecision, taking her once simple life in directions she never could have imagined.

When Greg’s Keeper sense foretells danger, however, they abandon all dreams of normalcy and find no other choice but to flee. Armed with nothing but their Morphid skills, Sam sets their course toward New York City, a place that calls to her deeper instincts. As her Keeper, Greg must follow but knows danger awaits.

Thus begins a quest that will test their bond and may spell the end of all they hold dear. It’s only a matter of time before Regent Danata and chaos storm into their lives again.


The Review

I get it. Every story needs a villain. But wow – Regent Danata is a bitch. I thought it was just Ashby that I couldn’t stand – which I should let it be known I still don’t like him – but it’s everyone under this authority. Especially Veridan. He’s up to no good… but I am very interested in seeing what he has up his sleeve. Regenta Danata, however, is the worst of the worst. The fake momma-caring that she shows Ashby in the beginning was an obvious sham and she couldn’t even make it seem authentic and legit.

I love that there were elements that are so true to today’s relationships. Greg and Ashby fighting over the same girl; fighting for Sam’s love and attention, one feeling more entitled than the other *cough – Ashby – cough*, despite Sam making how she feels very clear and choosing free will. The scene with Greg and Sam at the party – every part of it speaks volumes towards couples. I do think Greg was pressuring her a little bit and regardless of whether they’re human or Morphids . . . pressure is pressure.

There were parts of this book that I really liked, some I wasn’t crazy about, and all the chapters with Brooke left me with an indifferent feeling. I didn’t care for Brooke one way or another in Keeper – she had some significance, but her and Sam’s friendship just didn’t seem “right” for one another – now in Ripper her spunky upbeat personality and sarcasm just felt out of place. It added a little “lightness” to such serious situations, but it just felt awkward, too.

I had a gut feeling about the ending being a huge cliffhanger, but I was not expecting what happened. I actually liked the ending. It gave me an inkling of respect – just an inkling! not much – for Ashby, although I wouldn’t put it past him to go back to being an asshole. Even though he was handling it a lot better than what was expected for Morphids, I felt so heartbroken for Greg when Danata ripped his connection to Sam. Not only did he lose his Keeper caste but he was separated from Sam.

Definitely can’t wait for the third in the series to see what the separation has done to Sam and how the group finds her and overall what happens to the Regent and her shady followers.

4 thoughts on “Review: Ripper by Ingrid Seymour

  1. Yes I could not stand that woman that calls herself a mother. No bitch, you’re just despicable pos. Seriously, I wanted to choke her so many times it’s not even funny.

    Secondly, I don’t think Greg was pressure Sam. I think he just wanted to know where this relationship was going and if she was ready for the next big step because she was being, in my opinion flaky about whether or not she wanted to be with Greg. And I’m just talking on a sexual level.

    Yet Greg, could have handle that situation better. Either way I enjoyed the book although it wasn’t as thrilling as the first read.

    Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

