Review: Keeper by Ingrid Seymour

Standard


Title: Keeper
Series: The Morphid Chronicles, #1
Author: Ingrid Seymour
Pub. Date: June 2014
Pages: 373
Format: eBook
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Description:

Samantha thinks of herself as human, ordinary, and a little too full around the hips — a super cute look for a future chef, if you ask her. And she’s sort of right, except about being ordinary…oh…and human. She also won’t be full around the hips for very long, not with the inevitable metamorphosis coming her way.

In her oblivious existence, all she can think about is going to culinary school, away from her uncaring, bordering-on-hateful parents.

But all that is about to change when Greg — an otherworldly, amazing-looking guy — saves her from an unexpected magical attempt on her life and informs her that he is her Keeper, compelled to protect her even at the cost of his own life. Oh, and by the way, that she isn’t human, after all.

The attempts on her life become commonplace and secrets and threats from a dark, forgotten past reveal themselves and send her life into turmoil.

As Samantha tries to come to terms with this new reality, she must rediscover herself and face the possibility of being the key to the survival of a dying race.


The Review

My first thought when I started this book was that I wouldn’t like it. I admit that I judge books by their covers, quite frequently, and this was just so pretty! However, there was just something about the cover that screamed “you’re not going to like it, Brittany.” I decided to give it a try – plus, at the time Amazon had it for free and I figured what could it really hurt?

I was instantly hooked within the first chapter! In a way, I was getting a lot of Scott Westerfield’s Uglies vibe while reading this – with the whole “free will” thing. For the most part, however, this is one of the most unique stories I have read in a really long time.

From the very beginning, since the moment that the character was introduced, I knew that I would not like Ashby. I don’t know what it was about him during that scene with Sam that made me say “nope, I don’t like you.” I just didn’t like him. I thought maybe he’d grow on me . . . nope. At least further into the story, I had legit reason to despise him. He didn’t deserve it, of course, but his character just got under my skin.

Each of the characters had depth. There were characters that seemed unimportant to the plot, but they weren’t “invisible” characters – most had a purpose in one way or another, even if we (as a reader) aren’t 100% certain what that purpose is yet.

Both Greg and Sam are coming of age – quite differently than “humans,” of course – yet are going through the process together. At first I thought that Sam would be some type of damsel in distress and would need Greg to protect her and be her Prince Charming, in a way. Then I really thought about it – she’s a heroine, in a sense, and Greg plays just an important role as a hero.

I’ve heard a lot of people talk about how there are no male heroes in YA novels these days. How it’s always a female heroine, and that’s what’s preventing boys from reading. I think Keeper is a perfect story for young men to read that has a male hero and doesn’t focus entirely on the female character. It’s slightly tainted by love, but the idea is still there. We’ve all got to fight for something.

Leave a Reply

